Firstlife – Review

Firstlife – Gena Showalter

Grass isn’t greener on the other side. Grass is greener when you water it.

I was fascinated from the first page, two worlds fought against each other and in the middle was Tenley Lockwood, trying to decide what decision was right for her life… but the decision did take a long time.

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

This story follows Tenley Lockwood, a normal girl who after being locked away in an Asylum for over a year, she comes comes out fighting! This story navigates through her Firstlife, as she tries to chose where her Everlife be spent, with Troika or Myraid. However, there are a lot of people trying to pressure her into her decision, which only makes her push back harder.

Now let me start by saying, I know there is a lot of mixed reviews on this one, but I actually enjoyed this book even though my rating isn’t as high as it could have been! The book was unique and intriguing, and I couldn’t wait to hear her decision on whether she was Troika or Myraid.. but that took 438 pages, and I am very impatient. I enjoyed reading about the Everlife and I am glad this is the only the first installment as I cannot wait to see where her journey takes Ten in the future now that her decision is made.

The relationships in the book worked well, I enjoyed reading them although I know I wasn’t the only one to roll my eyes when the bad boy came in and everyone swooned… Bad guy… Good heart, we have all seen it before. I also laughed that his name was Killian and he was the bad guy with the good heart, was anyone else reminded of Once Upon A Time? Not going to lie, I still like Captain Hook.

I liked Archer, I think his character was well written and I was disappointed in the end (as you can imagine if you have read the book). He always came in to save the day, and Tenley always trusted him to save her and do what is right. I think secretly though she knew what she was always going to choose. She might love the bad guy, but ultimately she was the light.

I cannot wait to see where this story goes from here.

Favourite Moment: Her choice, I think it was perfect, but long awaited.
Favourite Quote:‘What you know and feel matters, but what you do matters more’
Rating: 3/5

My end is only the beginning.

One thought on “Firstlife – Review

Leave a Reply

