Percy Jackson – The Lightning Thief – Review

The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordon

Rick Riordan writes a funny and entertaining first book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series. Enjoyable, humorous but unfortunately hard for me to jump into.

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

This story follows Percy Jackson who is a 12 year old boy that is ‘troubled’. Diagnosed with ADHD and dyslexia, he thought he was just a normal kid with focus problems, little did he know he was half human… half god. This story is for younger readers, looking to follow Percy and his friends though an epic adventure. Meeting gods, and making enemies, it was a great read, but hard to get into when you have 1. watched the moving, and 2. are 24 reading from a 12 year old boys perspective. Sorry.

If you have not seen the movie, definitely give this one a read! The movie completely spoiled the story for me, but I wanted to read the other books in the series and didn’t want to miss any information not in the movies.

Rick’s writing is amazing, and I am disappointed I didn’t read this one when I was younger. I loved the humor, and I would of thoroughly enjoyed the read and rated it five stars if I read it when I should have! The plot was fantastic, I enjoyed going through the different worlds from the human world to Hades and Olympus. I liked the portrayal of the gods, specifically the ‘big three‘, I loved that Rick wrote them as terrifying and hard to look at, because that’s how I imagine them. They were portrayed as powerful and they should be. This was a perfect way to write them…

I will definitely continue this series, because I guarantee when I read the books I haven’t been spoiled on I will absolutely love them. Also, I am keeping in mind Percy will grow through these books which hopefully will appeal to older readers such as myself.

Favourite Moment: This was really hard to choose because I didn’t have a specific place that I was like YES! My favorite moments were actually Percy in Camp Half-Blood, I liked him figuring out who his Father was and what that meant he could do as a demigod.
Favourite Quote: ‘The sea does not like to be restrained’
Rating: 3.5/5

3 thoughts on “Percy Jackson – The Lightning Thief – Review

  1. This is such an excellent series! If you didn’t already know, you’ve got the Heroes of Olympus after the first five books and Rick is currently working on Apollo’s books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

