June Haul/Wrap Up & July TBR

Hi Everyone, today I am bringing you my June Haul, Wrap Up and July TBR! It has been a busy month of book buying, reading and wishing I didn’t have to be an adult so I could read more books!

Alright, Lets jump straight into it!

June Haul

June Partial Book Haul

This month I began building my library! Which is very exciting however I am running out of space very quickly and now need to buy a proper set of shelves! Below is a list of books I purchased during the month of June:

  • Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton
  • Zeroes – Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone (Illustrated Edition) – J.K. Rowling and Illustrated by Jim Kay
  • Firstlife – Gena Showalter 
  • The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins, all in hardback even though I already have the paperbacks… Oops
  • Percy Jackson & the Olympians Hardback Box Set – Rick Riordan 
  • Lonely Planet’s Ultimate Travelist – Lonely Planet
  • Lady Midnight – Cassandra Clare
  • Twilight Tenth Anniversary/Life and Death Dual Edition – Stephenie Meyer
  • Passanger – Alexandra Bracken
  • The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater
  • Black Widow Forever Red – Margaret Stohl
  • After You – Jojo Moyes
  • Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
  • Zodiac – Romina Russell 
  • Red Rising, Golden Son and Morning Star – Pierce Brown

I also received two of the wonderful YA Chronicles Boxes this month for May and June which I have the unboxing for you below!

The May YA Chronicles Box – ‘Summer Daze, Driftin’ Away’

June - YA Chronicles Unboxing

Volume 9 is the first instalment I have purchased from the YA Chronicles and I’m super excited about all the goodies I have received! Below is the list of goodies that came with my May Box!

  • The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson,
  • Fairy Bread candle from Nook and Burrow,
  • An ice cream magnetic book mark from The Woods Avenue,
  • A grapefruit bath bomb from All Body Soaps.

The June YA Chronicles Box – ‘Pride Week’

May - YA Chronicles Unboxing

Volume 10 is my second YA Chronicles box that I have subscribed to, and they did not disappoint! Below is the list of goodies that came with my June Box!

  • You Know Me Well – Nina LaCour and David Levithan
  • Tote Bag with E.E. Cummings quote from Bookworm Boutique
  • Fearless Rune Necklace in honour of #Malec
  • ‘Perfect Just The Way You Are’ Print from Junebug Printables
  • Read Diverse Books Wristband

Really excited to announce that the July YA Chronicles Box theme is: Ladies Who Slay!

I have also signed up for my first Owl Crate Subscription Box and the theme is: Good vs Evil! 

June Wrap Up

I read four books this month, and the ratings I gave them are below! I also have full reviews for these books up on my blog if you want to check them out! Or you can also go to my goodreads page! Quick disclaimer, this is only my opinion I enjoyed all of my reads this month, just a few weren’t to my taste!

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson 5/5 stars! What a wonderful read. This book was fun, entertaining and captured my interest from the very first page.
Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton 4/5 stars! Highly anticipating the next book in this series!
Firstlife by Gena Showalter 3/5 stars! Will definitely still read the second book in this series, even though this one wasn’t 100% to my liking.
The Lightning Theif by Rick Riordan 3.5/5 stars! Will continue to read this series, I’m sure I’m going to love the books that I haven’t watched the movie for!

July TBR

July TBR.jpg

Here is my July TBR, and it’s a bit ambitious but I’ll do my best!

The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater – I am currently in the process of reading this book and 74 pages in. Since the prologue I have been hooked on this story and I cannot wait to continue with this read and finish it off this month. The Raven Boys follows Blue who comes from a clairvoyant family although she doesn’t have the sight. She has been told for many years that her true love will die, and this year is the year she falls in love!

 

Zodiac – Romina Russell – I don’t know much about this book other than it revolves around the zodiac astrological signs and a girl name Rhoma Grace! It is sci-fi meets fantasy. It looks like this book is going to be an action packed journey through the galaxies!

You Know Me Well – Nina LaCour & David Levithan – This is an LGBT novel that I received in my YA Chronicles box which follows two points of view, Mark and Kate! They have gone to the same school but haven’t ever interacted until one night out in the city where their paths collide!

Red Rising – Pierce Brown – I have heard a lot about Pierce Brown, so I cannot wait to get started on this trilogy! This story follows Darrow who lives in a colour-coded society set in the future. He is a Red which is the lowest society, and he spends his life on Mars making the surface livable for the future generations which he does happily knowing his life is given to make the world better for his children… Are the Reds actually making the world better, or are they slaves to the other societies… Guess I will have to read to find out.

Lois Lane: Fallout – Gwenda Bond – Lois Lane we all know from Superman! Well this story is based around her life before him, and I cannot wait to jump into it. This is a YA twist on Lois Lane and her life before the comics where she starts out in Metropolis trying to fit in.

Well that is it for my June Book Haul, Wrap Up and July’s TBR.

HAPPY READING

Bex

5 thoughts on “June Haul/Wrap Up & July TBR

  1. I loved Illuminae it’s an amazing book, it so uniquely written, and I would also recommend the audiobook for it, it really made the experience come to life. I hope you enjoy all of the books you bought and the one’s your planning on reading this month.

    Like

Leave a Reply

