You Know Me Well – Review

You Know Me Well – Nina LaCour & David Levithan

You Know Me Well

If you find yourself heartbroken, keep walking

This story is captivating, unique and worthy of the five star rating! The story follows Kate and Mark who become best friends after finding each other at the start of Pride Week in San Francisco. Each with their own journey revolving around love, it was hard to put this book down.

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

I had no words when I finished this book. I had to process because in all honesty I was heartbroken. This story was an incredible read, and definitely not something I would normally pick up. It was including in my YA Chronicles subscription box, and therefore went to the top of my TBR.

Mark’s journey revolves around his best friend Ryan, who he is in love with, but Mark has never told Ryan that was the case. This relationship broke my heart. It is a credit to the amazing writers because I felt Mark’s pain. They conveyed the emotion well, and it stirred up such real emotions that I am sure everyone has felt at some point in their lives. I was expecting the ending of this story to be different, and that is why I am still heartbroken. But I do understand why it ended the way it did…

I loved Kate’s character, she was so strong and caring when it came to Mark who she had only known for a short amount of time. It was good to see her flaws, and her to work through her vulnerability when it came to meeting the love of her life and talking about her future. Her relationship with Violet was beautiful, I have no other words about it other than I really enjoyed reading about it.

The characters really complemented each other, and I felt a genuine friendship that was created and I absolutely loved it. Nina and David write stories that really stir up emotions, a breathtaking story evolved from a short 248 pages. I couldn’t have asked for a better book to read.

Favourite Moment: Kate meeting Violet
Favourite Quote:Β Have you ever wanted something so badly to happen that when it’s about to happen, you feel the need to sabotage yourself?
Rating: 5/5

4 thoughts on “You Know Me Well – Review

Leave a Reply

