The Raven Boys – Review

The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys

My Words are unerring tools of destruction, and I’ve come uneqipped with the ability to disarm them.

A compelling, unpredictable an engrossing story following Blue and her Raven Boys.
Before spoilers, if you haven’t read this book, go read it… I don’t know what you are waiting for, but it didn’t disappoint me.

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

This story follows Blue who comes from a family full of clairvoyants, however she does not possess the sight. This is up until St. Mark’s Eve, where she see’s a spirit but as a non-seer she shouldn’t. Even though she was warned against it, Blue finds her path crossing with Gansey and the Raven boys who are on their own search of the supernatural.

This was my first Maggie Stiefvater book, and she did not disappoint. There was so much hype surrounding this series, and I was skeptical… Would it live up to this hype? Then I started reading and I found no faults. I COULDN’T FIND A FREAKING FAULT BECAUSE THIS BOOK IS AMAZING.

From the Prologue I was hooked, Maggie had a way of writing that made you crave more. It was hard to put down from that first moment, I immediately needed to know more. Even now, having finished the first book, I NEED MORE!

Ok, onto the characters. Blue was such a strong female character. She was stubborn, inquisitive and one of my favourite female characters this year so far! And yes I know how far behind I am from being on this bandwagon, but I am on it, and I love it!

Gansey, wow, so many layers. At first he was confident and condescending, but we read on he became this different person that was vulnerable at times and more than anything he cared about everyone of his friends. He wasn’t going to risk anyone’s life for his quest, and I think that was very admirable even though he had been searching for seven years.

Adam… I don’t know how I felt about him. The book ended without explaining what is happening here. I loved Adam at the start he was vulnerable towards Blue and a character that was easy to love. You wanted to protect Adam because his family life is tragic. However, as the book continued he became very accusing of Gansey, and everyone seemed to be trying to help but because he was poor he thought they were pitying him. I just started to drift away from him mentally, and the ending didn’t help. I need more explanation, hopefully the next book will help.

Maura, Calla & Persephone – The readings between these three were wonderful, I love how Maura is reserved and Calla is the complete opposite and it just worked. It was good cop, bad cop, and confusing cop! I loved when they were all together, family debates were very entertaining as well.

Ronan – Grew on me, I can’t wait to read more about him in the next book. I feel like he’s got so much more to give.

I am going to go into a huge spoiler here… Noah? I did not see it coming and maybe that’s just me, but I literally had no idea. Once his last name was said I was like Hey… Wait… What! I can’t even deal with this realization because I was caught off guard, and they were caught off guard and Maggie was very sneaky and it was great. I love Noah.

In the ending, I was confused I am not going to lie. I felt that the storyline just stopped and I was sitting there like, surely there is more. Instead now I need to wait to see whether Adam has lost the plot or not… He has hasn’t he… He’s definitely lost it…

Favourite Moment: All of it. I enjoyed all of it. I couldn’t possible pick a fav!
Favourite Quote: You will live because of Glendower. Someone else on the Ley line is dying when they should not, and so you will live when you should not.
Rating: 5/5

4 thoughts on “The Raven Boys – Review

Leave a Reply

