Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Reveiw

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrines

‘We cling to fairy tales until the price for believing in them becomes too high’

Time loops. Peculiar children. & WWII! What a unforgettable story.

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

This story follows our narrator Jacob on an adventure that his Grandfather thrust upon him. After the loss of Grandpa Portman, Jacob is only left with questions, and the only people that can answer them are in an abandon orphanage that was bombed in WWII… or are they?

I enjoyed this book more than I expected. If we start with the front cover this book looks like it is going to be a paranormal thriller, but Ransom Riggs writes a synopsis that demands attention! Can we just take a minute to show appreciation:

‘It becomes clear that Miss Peregrine’s children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow-impossible though it seems-they may still be alive’ – Ransom Riggs.

WHO WRITES LIKE THIS. IT WAS SO INTRIGUING! At that point I was hooked.

Following Jacob through his journey of uncovering his true nature and finding what his Grandpa’s last words meant was gripping and I would recommend this book to everyone. The book was only 382 pages (paperback copy), but I felt the story was so full and the writing perfection. I am going to throw out here that a picture is worth a thousand words, and the peculiar photographs were amazing and really brought the story together. The detail that Ransom Rigg’s went to, to bring this story together was amazing and I really appreciated the extra effort he went to go source the pictures from various collections.

I liked the characters in this story, Jacob was interesting and great to narrate the story. The peculiar children’s abilities were fantastic. The typical invisibility and floating didn’t seem overdone. It was perfect for the story, however the most interesting character was Enoch, I enjoyed his particularity, it showed a little difference in the story then from what was expected.

I liked Emma, and I felt for her waiting all that time for Abe to come back. Unfortunately, she only received bad news. She was still waiting for him, all those years later. Then I thought what if Abe did come back, he would of been 80, and she wouldn’t have aged a day. Either way, she wasn’t going to have good luck.

OK, just quickly to touch on the relationship… I still feel weird about whatever Jacob and Emma have going on. I don’t know how I feel about it, hopefully, after I read the next book I will have more opinions about this. I just thought it was weird, she was waiting for Abe that whole time, and then Jacob showed up and it seemed a bit like a second choice…

Overall, a wonderful read. It was written well, it drew me in and I enjoyed going on the journey with Jacob and the peculiar’s. As of now I will be continuing on with this story, I haven’t purchased the books yet, but I will and hopefully can clear up some of my feelings.

I have a few questions I want answered, will they start a new time loop? Will Miss Peregrine change back? Will they find all the other’s that were taken? Guess I will wait and read Hollow City to find out!

Favourite Moment: When the peculiar’s put on the play for Jacob, I enjoyed the happiness of the day. Of Jacob just getting to know everyone before the story began to pick up. Calm before the storm.
Favourite Quote: ‘I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.’
Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Reveiw

Leave a Reply

