Illuminae – Review

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

illuminae

‘You do not [expletive] the Alexander, the Alexander [expletive]’s You’

This book it lives up to all expectations and all hype. It is a masterpiece!

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

Illuminae is like nothing you have ever read before. There is so much going on and I don’t even know where to start describing the synopsis of this incredible read. Here goes nothing, and sorry in advance for the terrible description of the book…

Illuminae takes place in the year 2575, as we follow Kady and Ezra through a typical teenage break-up that leads them into space. A corporation has set out to destroy them… a deadly outbreak occurs… and a crazy as eff Artificial Intelligence system named AIDAN may be trying to help them survive, or he may be trying to kill everyone… There is a lot going on, but this book is genius!

I was hesitant to pick up this book, I didn’t know if I would like the writing style considering the whole 600 pages of Illuminae is written in emails, incident reports, surveillance logs, memorandums, interview transcripts and so on. It was by far the quickest and most enjoyable read I have had so far this year. This book was impossible to put down, and I mean that literally, I read it in one sitting, and now I am craving the next book which doesn’t come out until October.

Amie and Jay are such amazing authors, they made this book so enjoyable to read. The way they have written, and chose specific art instead of the usual storytelling methods, was beautiful. They really pushed the boundaries on the creation of this book and I really commend them because they have really opened the door for such an amazing trilogy, that potentially changes the way people want to read. I can’t imagine the amount of time and effort they put into this book, but I definitely would recommend it to everyone.

Our main protagonist Kady, I didn’t love straight of the bat. She seemed a bit cold at the start, but I definitely warmed to her as the story went on. She was strong, stubborn, a smart ass and would do absolutely anything for the person she loves. She risked her life for Ezra, and then again to save the remaining people on the Alexander, even though she knew she had lost everyone. She was a genuine hero. Ezra on the other hand captured my heart away. His romantic gestures were so wonderful to read, but away from his lighter side, he was funny and a kickass character!

I can’t say enough how funny this book was, it had me laughing all the time. The briefing notes were hilarious to read, although I got lost for a minute trying to keep up with what was happening where. I was definitely late to the party on working a few things out, but it didn’t take away from the story. The IM’s between McNulty and Ezra were full of what I assume is typical guy humor, but at the end of the day you could tell how much they cared for each other. The friendships were written so authentically, that you just engrossed yourself into the stories, the characters and the relationships, I honestly didn’t want it to end.

Lets quickly talk about that twist at the end. I thought it was going to be one of the stories that left me heartbroken. You know the ones, you finish the book and it isn’t satisfying because the ship you wanted didn’t come true and your heart was still mourning that loss. I thought this would be the same, I was mentally preparing myself after AIDAN pronounced that Ezra was already dead that I would be brokenhearted. To my surprise, I was wrong, and he came back into our lives and I was like YESSSSSSSSS. I can’t wait to see where this takes us in Gemina.

I only have three words to say about AIDAN – Crazy. Manipulative. Amazing – I think… We will see what happens next time.

Overall, I couldn’t fault this book, and I can’t wait to see how Kady and Ezra take on mummy-dearest in the next installment.

Favourite Moment: He wasn’t dead, oh the feels!!!!
Favourite Quote: You have me, until the last start in the galaxy dies, you have me.
Rating: 5/5 – If it could be given more, it would be.

9 thoughts on “Illuminae – Review

    1. I haven’t read Nevernight currently, but I have ordered it and hopefully I will get it shortly!

      I honestly don’t think anyone could give a bad review, I was so shocked at how much I enjoyed Illuminae! Now we all wait for Gemina.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

