Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts 1 and 2 – J.K.Rowling, Jack Thorn & John Tiffany

Harry Potter

‘How many people have died for the Boy Who Lived’
The hype was huge, the expectations were high. I loved this book, and it made me extremely nervous reading. I loved immersing myself back in this world.

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

This book… THIS BOOK… It gave me all the feels again! Suddenly we were back with our childhood fictional friends. This brought all the memories back of first reading the series and I absolutely loved it. I was a bit delayed in reading this one, mostly because I didn’t want to be disappointed. It’s hard when you enjoy a series so much so long ago, it’s hard to know if you will still enjoy it, or if it will be done justice. Happy to announce it was definitely done justice. However, I did have a few problems with it, which you can read below.

Our story picks up where the last page of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows left off, the gang are on platform 9 and 3/4’s. They are saying goodbye to their children as they head of to Hogwarts for the year. We focus on Albus Severus Potter in this script, as he struggles to figure out who he is away from his famous Father.. Also, we focus on Harry trying to understand his son who is the opposite of him.

I enjoyed the plot in this play. I enjoyed the character development and seeing their kids growing up and making their own decisions. It was a nervous read because Albus was basically undoing all the work that our characters had done in the past seven books. We have learnt so much about the world, and we know that you have to be very careful with the past, so by trying to bring back Cedric we knew the implications were going to be massive! It was so enjoyable, but I couldn’t help but cringing.

Albus he is basically written as a pretty average child, and placed by the sorting hat in Slytherin… This didn’t shock me, the sorting hat originally thought Harry should have been in Slytherin so it was only fitting that one of his children may go down this path. I liked Albus, he was a typical kid rebelling against his Father, it was just slightly annoying that he didn’t realize what Harry had sacrificed for others, and he was so resentful towards Harry.

Honestly, I liked Scorpius more than Albus… He was such a likable character. He was bubbly, kind and smart, and I just enjoyed reading about his character. I found it was strange that I liked him so much considering he was Draco’s son, but they are so different it was refreshing. It showed that Draco was such a different Father figure than his own. I enjoyed the friendship that formed between Albus and Scorpius, I think it was a beautiful, and I am glad we got to see something different, not just the expected Scorpius and Rose friendship.

Our beloved characters have grown since we last saw them, which is to be expected. I enjoyed reading Harry’s nerves around being a Father and if he was parenting correctly. These are things that are so relatable because they are fears everyone has. I liked seeing where everybody was now, especially Hermione. Minister of Magic was a definitely deserved role for her.

I did have some dislikes I didn’t enjoy was how the story focused on Cedric. The things that happened undermined the fact that he died a hero. They showed him as a villain at one point, and it just seemed very out of character for Cedric. I found it not believable. Also, from what we saw of Amos, he wasn’t one to show up out of nowhere and be confrontational and demand his son be brought back so many years later. Although, this could have been that Delphi playing with his mind, it just confused me a bit. I also didn’t like the whole character of Delphi and that the boys didn’t realize she was evil… It was clear… She even stated how she used to listen in the shadows. It was a clear indicator she was up to no good.

Overall, there were certain things I didn’t enjoy, but I can look past them and say that I loved reading this world again. I enjoyed the format of the play, and how quick of a read it was! I love that it read like fanfiction, because it brought together some things that we all have been wanting to see. The pages flew by, the characters were just as I remembered them and ultimately J.K can do no wrong.

Highlights
– Hermione being Minister of Magic! It gave me shivers, she’s amazing. I love her.

– Snape’s section in the alternate time where he helps Scorpius, and he know’s that for Harry to win the war he had to die… It was just beautiful to read, and I truly miss Snape.

– Small sections we read of Lily, James and baby Harry. FEELS! ALL THE FEELS. Then we had to watch them die… or read it… but I felt like I was watching it again. It hurt.

Lowlights
– Evil Cedric killing Neville… HOW DARE HE! I have a lot of words to say about this… None of them are appropriate for a review.

– An alternative world where Voldemort is basically king is terrible, I don’t like it, I don’t like to think about it, so much hate.

Favourite Moment: Draco helping the group of friends get their children back.
Favourite Quote: ‘The truth is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution’
Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Review

Leave a Reply

