Half Wild – Review

Half Wild – Sally Green

Half Wild

‘I always thought a person’s Gift reflected something about that person and all I can think is that my Gift reflects my desires, and my desires are to be totally wild, totally free.’

Half Bad was intriguing, but Half Wild took the trilogy to a whole new level. It was captivating, action packed and the character development was on point!

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

This story kicks off back with Nathan, who has received his three gifts from Marcus who left him again, and he is in the midst of discovering what his powers are. He has a powerful gift, one exactly like his Fathers and he is terrified that he is becoming the same Monster. This story follows Nathan trying to find his way back to Annalise, a way to control his magical powers, and plotting the death of the corrupt white council.

Holy this book was amazing, and I am really loving how far the books have come up until this point. The plot was fast paced, entertaining and my love for the characters just crew immensely.
Nathan’s magical power was obviously revealed, and like Marcus he can transform into animals, which was amazing. I loved the fact that although he had been caged his whole life and his power is that he can turn into a wild and free beast that could rip people to shred’s. I know what your thinking, wow that’s a bit dark , but he was tortured and mutilated and now he can release the beast on them. I just think it’s very fitting.

I know a lot of people didn’t like the format of these books, but I enjoy the way they are written. Its written in Nathan’s perspective, but as a flow of consciousness. I was used to reading this way as I only read Half Bad recently, and then I went onto Illuminae, so different writing styles are really my thing right now!

The character development in this book was amazing, especially with Nathan. He started out in this book as a terrified half code, afraid of what his powers could do and of the monster inside of him. Then we progress to the end and he was embracing the beast, controlling his animal instincts and ultimately enjoying the freedom he felt as his power took over. I absolutely loved character development with Marcus, we see the other side to him, the side that actually does care for his son, even though he has very brutal ways of showing it. I enjoyed reading about his powers, we have heard about what he can do in Half Bad, but witnessing him using his powers was wonderful.

The last book ended and I was full of questions. Where is Gabriel? Is Annalise going to betray Nathan? Will we even see Annalise again? Will we see Marcus? I am glad they cleared everything up for me, but I was with Gabriel the whole time. Annalise would never accepted Nathan for who he was, she didn’t want to know about the animal side to him, and he didn’t want to share it because he knew she would look at him differently. She was always a bit of a snake in the grass to me.

I am going to have a little rant about Annalise for a second, so if you don’t want to hear my honest opinion on her character feel free to scroll down a bit.From the start of this trilogy I thought she was a coward. She hides behind powerful people and thinks she can just get away with being the damsel in distress. I guess I am a bit biased, I have read so many books with powerful women that I didn’t like this one just sitting there waiting for things to be done for her. I was so relieved when she actually did something in the end, granted it made me hate her more, but at least she did something. She has been hiding the whole time, hiding behind the white witches and behind Nathan. Then comes in her stupid little brother and I was like someone kill him…

Then she did the unthinkable… What confused me is how a weak character could kill off the most notorious black witch in history. Also, how did she hit him? I guess there was a lot of confusion, Marcus was a bit cocky about the whole thing and she got a lucky shot in, but I was like what a shit unimpressive way to go. On the other side… Now we get to see her hunted, and I hope she goes out in a shit unimpressive way as well, like she trips and accidentally shoots herself. Of course they definitely won’t give me that ending, but here’s to hoping.

Rant over.

Alright, now I shipped Nathan and Gabriel from the start, Gabriel would do anything for him, and I can’t wait to see more of this relationship development in the next book. If this ship doesn’t go anywhere I am going to lose my mind. Gabriel is such a sweetheart, I love reading about him, especially from Nathan’s eyes. He makes him sound so beautiful and protective, whereas it’s such a different dynamic with Annalise. I enjoyed the LGBT factor in this book, it was great because you didn’t know it was a thing until it was happening. We all knew Gabriel was in love, but then Nathan reciprocated for a second there, and it was epic.

Overall, Half Bad left me confused, not knowing if I actually enjoyed the book. However, Half Wild completely changed my thinking process and I am absolutely enthralled with this book. I will be continuing this series (obviously), I already have Half Lost and will be starting reading it immediately.

Favourite Moment: Nathan bonding with his Father, and staying with him for a week being wild and free.
Favourite Quote: ‘Wild is an interesting word. We imagine wild to be untamed and out of control but, of course, nature isn’t like that; nature is controlled, ordered, extremely disciplined by all its elements’
Rating: 5/5 – A vast improvement from the first book.

4 thoughts on “Half Wild – Review

Leave a Reply

