#ReadThemAllThon TBR

Hello Book Lovers!

I am here today to announce that I will be joining the Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight! I am super excited to join in because this is officially my first Read-A-Thon, but I am absolutely loving the Pokemon Go app and I thought this would be a fun Read-A-Thon to start off with that combines my love of books and Pokemon!

Read-a-thon

Please note, all of the Pokemon graphics posted here (except for my Pokemon choice) are taken from the Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon Sign Up that Aentee posted, if you would like to check it out the challenge details or join up yourself all the details are in the link above! Also a disclaimer, I do not own Pokemon or have any association to it, other than playing the games and app. Pokemon belongs to Nintendo.

The Read-A-Thon goes from Sunday the 14th of August to Sunday the 4th of September, so hopefully I can knock out 8 books during that time and gain some extra points by evolving my Pokemon! I am super excited to share the books that I will be reading below, if you are joining this challenge let me know in the comments so I can check out your TBR!

Dratini! I Choose You! 

Dratini Card

*Please excuse my sad attempt of making a trainers card! I am not talented with photoshop, so you have a lovely picture I attempted to create with Pic Collage…. Hahaha oh the shame!

Challenges & TBR

Badge 1

 Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Pages: 383 – Potential CP: +38

Red Queen is one of my August TBR and I am excited to finally start it! This story sets place in a world divided. Red or Silver. Reds are commoners, Silvers are rulers with superpowers. Mare Barrow is a Red, but what happens when she discovers she has a power of her own…

Badge 2

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Pages: 378 – Potential CP: +37

I didn’t know what book to pick for this challenge, but then I read the synopsis of All The Bright Places and it was evident. If any book can make me cry, it is this one! I am not going to give a big synopsis I am just going to say the first line I read off the front of the book ‘The story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die’. I feel the tears already!

Badge 3

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Pages: 437 – Potential CP: +43

When anyone mentions hype there are so many books that I could chose, but hype is on a whole new level with Maggie Stiefvater books. Nothing compares to the thunderous hype that comes with The Raven Cycle. For this challenge I will be reading book two which is The Dream Thieves. I can’t say too much about this one because of spoilers, but basically this follows a girl named Blue and her Raven Boys as they hunt a dead king named Glendower, who is said to lie under the town they live in.

Badge 4

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan & Maureen Johnson

Pages: 441 – Potential CP: +44

I couldn’t do a read-a-thon without putting one of my favourite Authors in there, and lucky for me one of her books is still on my TBR list. For the book featuring diversity I have chosen The Bane Chronicles,  Magnus is one of my favourite characters in The Mortal Instruments series, and his relationship with Alec Lightwood is perfection. This book features a series of eleven novella’s from Magnus’ many adventures before and after he meets the mortal instrument gang.

Badge 5

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Pages: 468 – Potential CP: +46

Since I read The Unexpected Everything a few months ago, I just had to buy and read another one of Morgan Matson’s books. In my opinion she is one of the best writers of Epic Romances in Young Adult books, so of course I had to pick one of her reads. Second Chance Summer follows Taylor Edwards on a family holiday after they find out some life-changing news. This is her second chance summer that involves, friends, family, and love.

Badge 6

 A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 418 Potential CP: +41

When I think of fantasy a few names come to mind, one of those is SARAH J. MAAS! So during this Read-A-Thon I decided it was time to pick up my first Sarah J. Maas book! I know people say I should start with the Throne of Glass series, but NOPE I am going with ACOTAR because I have heard too many amazing things! This story follows Feyre, a huntress who thinks nothing of killing a wolf in the forest. She stole a life, and now she pays the price and the price is her heart.

Badge 7

 This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Pages: 425 Potential CP: +42

This is one of my most anticipated books for the year, and I was lucky enough to receive it in my Owlcrate box for July! This one has been very high on my priority list, and what do you know… it has a red cover! This story is the first of Victoria’s Monsters of Verity duology, that revolves around a city where violence breeds monsters.

Badge 8Rook by Sharon Cameron

Pages: 456 Potential CP: +45

Oh My Goodness, this book… I haven’t heard much about this book, but I saw the cover and I was like YES THIS IS HAPPENING. Lucky for me it’s a dystopian novel and a perfect fit for this challenge. This book is set in a Post-Apocalyptic Dystopian version of Paris, where the new revolution sees people that oppose beheaded. Except people are disappearing from their prison cells, and left in their place is a single… red… rook… Across the sea we meet Sophie, who is in an arranged marriage, but she and her partner both have secrets to hide, and somehow their story intertwines with the Red Rook.

So there we have it my TBR for the #ReadThemAllThon hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight. There are heaps of ways I can get extra points in this challenge, so I will keep the updates coming and give a wrap up at the end!

Readathon TBR

If you are joining this challenge let me know in the comments, I would love to hear what Pokémon you choose and what books you have picked for your TBR!

GOTTA CATCH EM ALL!

7 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon TBR

  1. Hi! This is my first Read-A-Thon as well. Aentee created the perfect blend of the current Pokémon craze and book lovers’ passion for reading, for that I am very excited.
    I chose Charmander because he is a 3 stage evolution, fire type Pokémon, and because he is one of my favorites.
    You have some great books on your TBR. The RED QUEEN was great. I also have THIS SAVAGE SONG for my flame badge. I am eagerly waiting to read it. And omg, A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES! Just wait till you read A COURT OF MIST AND FURY! The series totally lives up to the hype in my opinion. Sarah J. Maas is amazing; she is one of my auto-buy authors.
    Have fun and happy reading!

    Jessica @ Pore Over the Pages

    Here’s my sign up:
    https://poreoverthepages.wordpress.com/2016/07/29/readthemallthon-tbr-pile/

    Like

Leave a Reply

