The Dream Thieves – Review

The Dream Thieves – Maggie Stiefvater

The dream thieves

“We can pretend. Just once.”

Yet again, The Raven Cycle has given us an unpredictable, compelling and enjoyable read. There is a reason Maggie Stiefvater is a #1 New York Times bestseller, and The Raven Cycle is a prime example of her skills. Her writing is captivating, intriguing and keeps you guessing until the very last second, and this book did exactly that!

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

Here we are again, back with Blue and her Raven Boys. We picked up right where we left off, dealing with the aftermath of Cabeswater, or not dealing with it when it comes to Adam. Although, in this story we mainly followed Ronan Lynch, ‘the snake’, and his journey discovering himself, his abilities and more about his Father and the gifts he left his three son’s.

Ronan was wonderful to read about in the first story, although I thought he was kidding when he mentioned pulling Chainsaw from his dreams. Turns out definitely not kidding! The Raven Boys pitched Ronan as a rich boy with anger issues who had a strong allegiance with Gansey. The character development of Ronan in this book was written to perfection. We saw him develop from the aggressive fiery character that he was in The Raven Boys and the start of The Dream Thieves, to someone more vulnerable. He was terrified of his dreams and how to stop them, and then he stopped and embraced what his dreams could create when he needed to save his little brother… On that note, how cute is his relationship with Matthew?

The plot in this story was slow to start, but once I hit the halfway mark it became more fast-paced and action packed! I find Maggie writes the moments between Blue and Gansey beautifully, especially when they were driving together. This was one of the slower paced moments in the book, but my favourite part to read, even though my heart broke when the moment ended. Within this book I came to the realization that Maggie writes with misdirects to who the real villain is. The Grey Man. Greenmantle. Kavinsky. She keeps us guessing as the story progresses and you end up loving characters that you originally hated, and that’s definitely what happened with The Grey Man.

I felt like our boys were a little broken in this book. The hostility between Adam and everyone was just growing throughout until it exploded, several times. I think it was necessary though, the way The Raven Boys ended it was bound to come to a head at some point and he needed to know what was happening to him after his sacrifice. Ronan was attempting to work through his demons and his family secrets, and we lost Noah a few times which cannot happen because even though he is dead, he gives so much life to this story. He’s a character I just adore, and he really glue’s the boys together. Blue was still the same stubborn, feministic and strong woman, she could do no wrong in my eyes in this book, and I just hope she doesn’t have to keep living in fear of loving someone.

I still don’t know how I feel about Adam, my review of The Raven Boys touched on it as well. He’s a hard character for me to grasp, he can be a completely unreasonable and aggressive, especially towards Gansey, but he never has to apologize for it. I just want once in The Raven Cycle for him to stop and say sorry, and if he does that I will be happy. I did feel for him when Blue had to tell him the truth about her feelings. I want him to be happy too, I hope we find more of this in Blue Lily, Lilly Blue.

Now I suppose at this point the question is: Did I love The Dream Thieves? Yes. But I also had to ask myself: Did I love The Dream Thieves as much as I loved The Raven Boys? … Not as much no. The story was wonderful I don’t want to take away from it at all, but I wasn’t as enthralled as I was in book one! I still enjoyed every second of reading, but with The Raven Boys it was like an addiction and I couldn’t put the book down. With this book I was happy to place it down, and come back to it the next day. I liked putting this book down and knowing I could drag out the reading process because it was enjoyable to read.

Now being two books into The Raven Cycle, I will definitely be continuing on with this series. I cannot wait to see where Blue and The Raven Boys are taken next. The question for the next book will be where is Maura?

Favourite Moment: Gansey & Blue’s moment on their drive together. So many feels!
Favourite Quote: ‘In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them. Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness. Her raven boys.’
Rating: 4.5/5

8 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves – Review

  1. This was such a great review! I actually loved Dream Thieves more than the first one but I think because I originally gravitated to Ronan’s character to begin with. I also agree that Noah is the glue and I didn’t like seeing him disappear so much either in this book. I haven’t read Blue Lily, Lily Blue yet but I plan to soon! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you loved this! The Dream Thieves was probably my favourite in the series because I have such a weakness for Ronan, haha. I definitely agree that Noah was lacking though. I can’t wait to see what you think of the rest of the series!! Your favourite quote is one of my favourites too. So good!! Great review ♥

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, I’m glad you liked my review! This book was really good and now I’m so excited to start Blue Lily, Lily Blue! Roman was such an amazing character in this book, I can’t wait to read more! Hopefully more Noah too!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

