Hollow City – Review

Hollow City – Ransom Riggs

“Strange, I thought, how you can be living your dreams and your nightmares at the very same time.”
Hollow City is enjoyable, spooky and unforgettable story, with time-loops, monsters and the most wonderful bunch of peculiar children.

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

This story follows our narrator Jacob, picking up exactly where we left off at the end of the first book. Jacob and his peculiar friends have fled the island chased by wights and hollows! They find themselves stuck in the middle of WWII, as they attempt to find a cure to bring back their beloved mentor, and overcome anything the peculiar world throws at them.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, was exactly what I didn’t know I was looking for, and Hollow City continued this peculiar story. The plot was probably one of the main reasons why my rating is slightly lower than I originally rated it. The more I thought about it, the more I realised we didn’t really get anywhere in this plot. I did feel a bit of second book syndrome within Hollow City… It didn’t WOW me with new information or draw me in instantly. I was already drawn to the story through the first book, so taking that one aside I think this story lacked the intrigue that the first book provided.

One of my favourite parts of this story is meeting all the other peculiar’s that Jacob comes across on his adventures. Every one of them were different, and had their quirks and personalities that made them such a wonderful part of the story. That is what made this book so enjoyable, and in some part it did make up for the lack of plot.

I enjoyed returning and seeing what Hollow City had in store for the peculiar children, and I felt like there were a lot of thoughtful, slower paced moments during this book, which showed a lot of depth in the story which was a great addition. More connections were being built and delving into the characters backstories and how they ended up in Miss Peregrine’s care provided greater insight into my favourite characters! It was a good change from focusing on their peculiarity, to focus on who they are as people and the hardships they have faced.

“I liked this idea: that peculiarness wasn’t a deficiency, but an abundance; that it wasn’t we who lacked something normals had, but they who lacked peculiarness. That we were more, not less”

Ransom’s writing is faultless! You know the author is truly amazing when you can be a 25 year old woman, and are happy to read in the perspective of a teenage boy. It’s rare that I like reading in guy perspectives, but Ransom has written Jacob’s perspective perfectly and I can’t help but be in awe!

The small touches of the peculiar children photographs are also a great addition to every one of these books! I absolutely love illustrations, as they say a picture is worth a thousand words!

Overall, Hollow City brought so much joy to my peculiar heart! I liked reuniting with the peculiar’s on yet another journey. Although, the downfall in this case is it seemed like we didn’t get any closer to the end game and may have had second book syndrome, but even so Ransom made it an enjoyable read, and I still can’t wait to continue with Library of Souls.

Favourite Moment: Jacob learning how to harness his peculiarity through dreams of his Grandfather! I was so in love with those gentle, beautiful bonding moments and the relationship they had.
Favourite Quote: “Laughing doesn’t make bad things worse any more than crying makes them better. It doesn’t mean you don’t care, or that you’ve forgotten. It just means you’re human.”
Rating: 3/5

4 thoughts on “Hollow City – Review

Leave a Reply

