Gemina – Review

Gemina – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

It’s not about what I say, right? It’s what I do that matters here.

Matching covers, fantastic stories, kick-ass characters… what else could we want? Nothing your right because this book is everything!

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

Gemina is the second book in the The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, and it definitely delivered just as much as Illuminae did. Gemina follows on where we left off in Illuminae, except now we follow two new characters on the Jump Station Heimdall. With the next assault from BeiTech commencing, Hanna and Nik might be the only hope for Heimdall and Hyperia where Kady and Ezra are fast approaching.

First off let’s talk about our new characters. Hanna is the Captains of Jump Station Heimdall privileged daughter, and Nik… well he’s basically her drug dealer, but this dynamic is absolute gold! They are sarcastic, witty and funny, and I really enjoy their exchanges. Amie and Jay write such amazing characters, and Gemina is no exception. Hanna is strong, determined, stubborn and a kick-ass ninja warrior princess. There were some similarities between Hanna and Kady, but it was great, they are both such fighters! Then we have Nik, who is our tattooed male friend. He is sarcastic, protective and so much more than the criminal family he is from. I liked them both sooooo much.

The characters we are introduced to in Gemina are worlds apart from the two characters we followed in Illuminae, but I quickly found myself being drawn to them. I admit, I was skeptical at first, I loved Kady and Ezra, so it is hard to imagine that I would be invested in the two new characters, but I was just as invested and that gives amazing credit to the writing of Gemina!

There are a few extra characters that I enjoyed reading about. Ella was intelligent, sassy and I loved her dynamic with both Nik and Hanna. I enjoyed every second of interacting with Kady’s Dad, I was just dying with excitement, and also sitting there going ‘PLEASE DON’T DIE!’

The plot within Gemina followed sort of the same lines as Illuminae, but this didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the book. We are still in a space war, and the main characters have different obstacles to overcome. The addition we had in Gemina was, instead of the virus in Illuminae, we had what I describe as deathly drug worms. I am going to admit, they did not terrify me as much as the virus did in Illuminae.

The writing style is the same Illuminae, and that’s fine because I love that the story is told through memo’s, surveillance footage and instant messages. It really is a different way of reading, but honestly probably my favourite way of reading now!

O Captain, My Captain. We Meet Again.

Now I want to point out, I never cheer for the villain… that is until AIDAN came into my life and now AIDAN moments give me life! Is he a villain? Is he a hero? Can he be both? I don’t know but I hope we find out more in the next book, because he is psychotic, intelligent and creepy… but I love every moment!

It’s hard not to put the two books side and contrast the pair, even though they both stand up alone as amazing books. I did reduce my original rating slightly, because I was in the hype and I needed time to clear my thoughts. The main reason for the half a star reduction is a main difference I found between Illuminae and Gemina. Both the main characters in Gemina didn’t seem to make as many friends and connections as Kady and Ezra did in Illuminae. In Illuminae, I was devastated at every death because Ezra and Kady made so many connections that we also felt for. Whereas, in Gemina I was attached to the main characters and some of the minor characters but there weren’t as many of them in this book to grow attached too… I found that slightly dissapointing.

Overall, this book is full of so many twists, Rapier broke my heart when he revealed himself! I couldn’t even deal! Amie and Jay have a way of tearing us apart in these stories, I don’t know how many times I was like NOOOOOOO, but then to have been fooled by the authors yet again! It’s so hard to know what is real or not within their stories, because of all the twists and turns.

I loved Gemina, it was a great story and I cannot wait for more of The Illuminae Files!

Favourite Moment: AIDAN… Need I say more!
Favourite Quote: This is not so much a quote, rather than the end of conversation:
Hanna D: Nik, I’ll see you soon 🙂
Nik M: i’ll dress sexy

Rating: 4.5/5

11 thoughts on “Gemina – Review

      1. Yes! I had to do it! I’m so left out of the fun. I’ll have to add links for it to my blog…and I’ll need to spruce it up! Glad we are connected all over…well, ‘cept FB if you wanna be friends on there…

        Like

Leave a Reply

