October Wrap Up

Hey Book Lovers!

Today I am bringing you my October Wrap Up and what a wonderful reading month I had! I read a total of five books this month, four of them which turned out to be my favourite books of the year so far!

The main struggle I had this month was that I officially had to DNF a book, and that was a weird experience for me because I always push through, but unfortunately I couldn’t keep going with this one, but more about that shortly!

Without further delay, below are the four amazing books I read this month with links to my full reviews!

This is where it ends by Marieke Nijkamp 4/5 stars! This is where it ends is a heart-wrenching story of a school shooting that you won’t want to put down until it is over. Full Spoilery Review Here!

Caraval by Stephanie Garber 5/5 stars! Caraval has it all. It is magic, mystery, intrigue, romance and deception, all melded perfectly with beautifully written details that portrayed scenes of movies. A 2017 Must Read! Full Non-Spoiler Review Here!

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs 3/5 stars! Hollow City is enjoyable, spooky and unforgettable story, with time-loops, monsters and the most wonderful bunch of peculiar children. Full Spoilery Review Here!

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 4.5/5 stars! Matching covers, fantastic stories, kick-ass characters… what else could we want? Nothing your right because this book is everything! Full Spoilery Review Here!

Now this brings me to my DNF book for this month, and I will go into more detail about why I DNF’ed because I didn’t put a review up for this one… Maybe I should.

With Malice by Eileen Cook – 1/5 Stars – DNF at page 174.

This book unfortunately didn’t interest me as much as I thought it would. I disliked a few things mainly I felt irritated by characters I didn’t like, a storyline that was slow moving and girl bitchyness which honestly, I can’t deal with. High school ended a long time ago for me, so I just can’t deal.

I did like the cool way that transcripts and interviews were incorporated into the story and the cover was something from the start that I really enjoyed, so much so I purchased the hardcover. However, that’s where my like for the book ended unfortunately.

That is all!

Those are all the books I read this month! Let me know if you have read any of these and what your thoughts were! Also, how do you all treat DNF’ed books, do you write an official review, or just wrap it up like I did here? Would love your input.

Talk to you soon book lovers!

Happy Reading.

Bex

 

6 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

  1. Looks like you had a good reading month! the only book I have ever not finished is Game of Thrones.. Just couldn’t deal with that book!
    I just finished Hollow City and am currently reading Library of Souls and once I finished that and Tales of the Peculiar I will be straight onto Gemina! So keen, glad you enjoyed it! I am yet to see a bad review for it which is great!

    Like

    1. I did have a pretty good reading month this month! Probably best one I have had in a while! Game of Thrones I didn’t even start, the size is terrifying! I definitely will be starting Library of Souls soon I think, I enjoyed Hollow City and Miss Peregrines. Gemina is amazing, I absolutely loved it, I hope you do too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It wasn’t the size of Game of Thrones.. I got 3/4 of the way through it.. but I just couldn’t stand it.. it was so confusing trying to keep track of characters and deaths and the amount of murders, rape and shit I just don’t want to read about that shit in every chapter..

        And I loved Hollow City and Miss Peregrines! They were soo good and Library of Souls is really good so far!

        Like

Leave a Reply

