A Court of Thorns and Roses – Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

“the way you experience things, in your life span, so wildly and deeply and all at once, is … entrancing. I’m drawn to it, even when I know I shouldn’t be, even when I try not to be”

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a beautiful story that was absolute perfection. This book is full of beautiful fae, handsome warriors, and a strong mortal woman that gets hooked in a world she once feared.

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

A Court of Thorns and Roses follows Feyre, a human girl who is trying to keep her family alive. In the struggle and desperation to feed her two Sisters and Father, Feyre murders a beast… However, killing a faerie has consequences.

A wild beast demands retribution for the life she took and she is stolen from her family and taken to the magical land of Prythian to serve out her life. However, the land and the beast are both not as they seem, and she is thrust into a world much darker than she expected.

Holy. Shit. This. Book! I was yet again, skeptical about this book. The author has so much hype surrounding her, and yet I haven’t read any of her books. That being said, this is my first and ACOTAR did not disappoint. The hype is real, and I have now joined the hype train and am so happy I finally did.

Sarah J. Maas is Queen. I enjoyed the whole book, every second of the adventure, of the description, and of the characters. There was not a moment where I wanted to put this book down, it was so easy to read and I would happily take off to The Spring Court and live forever (minus the evil shit that went down obviously).

As it was the first time reading SJM, I wonder if all her writing is this perfect, and if so… why hasn’t anyone mentioned the perfection! I may just have to catch up on all the books I have been putting lower on my TBR.

It’s well known that ACOTAR is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, and it did lose some of it’s unpredictability due to this. Beauty and the Beast is a story that I love to my core, so I really appreciated the similarities. However, it still lost a little something because I could predict some of the plot due to this fact. For example, I can imagine that I am not the only one that knew the answer to the riddle. It killed me that she didn’t guess it straight away!

The plot though stood up on it’s own, it was a interesting, intriguing, fast-paced and as I mentioned I could not put it down. This is a book I stayed up until midnight to finish, because once you were all in.. YOU WERE ALL IN. The last third of the book I wasn’t moving until the book was finished, so that’s what I did.

“He also said that you liked being brushed, and if I’m a clever girl, I might train you with treats.”

The characters in A Court of Thorns and Roses were SO FREAKING GOOD! Every character was different and beautiful in their own way. I thought Feyre was an amazing character to follow, I enjoyed her point of view, she was strong, likable and brave. She was an inspirational character, questioning, over coming her fears, and fighting for the people she loves.

Then to Tamlin, who is by far one of my favourite characters along with Lucien. Tamlin was strong, brooding, sexy at times, and by god did I get on my ship and just keep sailing around in the Feylin bubble of love. Lucien I liked more than I thought I would at the beginning, his coldness turned around into protective over Feyre, and I was disappointed when her trust in him faltered slightly under the mountain. The three of them as a whole had an awesome relationship and I enjoyed the faeries interactions with Feyre. The three of them together were enjoyable to read, especially their funny moments, I found myself laughing out loud multiple times. I also appreciate how they fell into a family pattern, and ultimately they were a family and that was beautiful.

Two characters I did really like were Feyre’s sisters, I hated who they were at the beginning, but I grew to like them so much. One sister being naive and pure, where the other had so much inner strength that a glamour by the high lord wouldn’t work on her. I like that, it shows that Feyre isn’t the only strength in her family, they all were pretty awesome.

“I love you,” he whispered, and kissed my brow. “Thorns and all.”

Moving onto the Feylin relationship… I lived for this ship. I absolutely loved the Feyre and Tamlin sweet moments, and all the beautiful gestures he did for her like the gallery and saving her (multiple times). He turned out to be such a beautiful character that I was heartbroken when I found out that he was under a curse, although I shouldn’t have been surprised because it’s a retelling…

Now I know I haven’t read A Court of Mist and Fury, but I refuse at this point to believe my love will die for Tamlin. Everybody is all about Rhysand, but I couldn’t care less about him at this point. He was a different kind of evil, and I can’t imagine myself swooning over him currently because he wasn’t nice in ACOTAR. Yes yes yes, I am sure he had a reason explained in the next book as all the bad guy turned good tropes do… But I ship Tamlin and Feyre so much that I don’t even know if I should move on to ACOMAF… I just want to live in my ship for a little bit, and maybe I will pick up ACOMAF next year and be OK but at the moment I will be staying on my ship like the stubborn person I am for a bit longer.

Overall, this story was perfection, I enjoyed it so much and I wish I had picked it up earlier. I did knock half a star off for slight predictability, but it was only half a star because it took nothing away from the story. This book definitely lived up to the hype and I recommend it to everyone. However, maybe more of a New Adult than Young Adult… just quietly.

Favourite Moment: I liked the ending to be honest, I liked all the things that came together to end the way it did. Beautiful.
Favourite Quote: “Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy”
Rating: 4.5/5

4 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses – Review

Leave a Reply

