milk and honey – Review

milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

‘you were a dragon long before
he came around and said
you could fly

you will remain a dragon
long after he’s left’

milk and honey by Rupi Kaur is a collection of poetry that centers around femininity and survival. It was inspiring, shocking, beautiful and thought provoking.

milk and honey, although a beautiful read, was shocking in parts. It in no way strays from hard topics, that I myself wouldn’t pick up usually. The poems were beautifully written, and easily pulled emotions out of readers. I give a lot of credit to the writer for leaving her blood, sweat and tears in the pages of milk and honey.

The poetry was split up into four sections, the hurting, the loving, the breaking and the healing, and the healing was by far my favourite section. It was full of inspiration that I believe are lost in women’s lives sometimes. You must love yourself, a partner doesn’t make you, he does not complete you, he complements you. You do not need a man to be happy, you should be happy with yourself and milk and honey really touched on this perfectly.

It’s difficult to review a poetry book, especially because I am not an avid poetry reader. However, I enjoyed reading this books, I like that it touched on harder topics that are not always discussed, and I think the poetry was beautiful to read, with illustrations that complemented the words to perfection. I did find the book lacked longer poetry though, with many poems only lasting a few words.

What’s interesting about milk and honey is what I learnt about myself. I am a person that doesn’t need this book, I don’t need to know I am important or that I need to love myself. I feel whole, without a man, without anyone because I have been brought up to feel important, strong and independent. I thank this book for helping me realize that I don’t need  it, however I know people that do, and I will pass this one on knowing and being grateful for all I have.

Here are some of my favourite poems from milk and honey and I do hope you pick up this one if you haven’t already.

‘you tell me to quiet down cause
my opinions make me less beautiful
but i was not made with a fire in my belly
so i could be put out
i was not made with a lightness on my tongue
so i could be easy to swallow
i was made heavy
half blade and half silk
difficult to forget and not easy
for the mind to follow’

‘i will not have you
build me into your life
when
what i want is to
build a life with you’

‘you are in the habit
of co-depending
on people to
make up for what
you think you lack

who ticked you
into believing
another person
was meant to complete you
when the most they can do is complement’

Rating: 4/5

5 thoughts on “milk and honey – Review

Leave a Reply

