A Court of Mist and Fury – Review

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

“There are good days and hard days for me—even now. Don’t let the hard days win.”

A Court of Mist and Fury exceeded the first book in this trilogy in every way, the plot was intricate, entertaining, beautiful and I found no faults. I recommend this series to everyone!

Please note, quick disclaimer: this is not a young adult book. If young adult is what you are looking for, or you are a young reader, I do not recommend this for you. This is a new adult series for mature readers and has mature content

Since this is a review, below is spoiler central, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

A Court of Mist and Fury is the second book in the Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy/Series (not sure which it keeps changing) and it delivered over and above what A Court of Thorns and Roses did. A Court of Mist and Fury picks up in the Spring Court after Feyre has saved the Fae from Amarantha under the mountain. Feyre is dealing with the aftermath of what she did to save Tamlin, and as we begin three months down the track she is not fairing well. Rhysand has not collected on his bargain yet, but we follow Feyre and her life trying to deal with who she is, what she has become and where she belongs in Prythian.

This Book is everything and more! Captivating, exciting, unique, funny, beautiful, romantic, heated, emotional and packed with so much action! You name it, ACOMAF has it!

Sarah J. Maas has a way with world building, and her writing is full of descriptions that allow us to really see the world she has created and appreciate it for what it is. I appreciate the time she took to describe the beauty of Velaris, and why it was so important to Rhysand to protect. I liked the idea of Velaris as a whole, a beautiful piece of Prythian left untouched from the hands of Amarantha, and a place where Rhys and the inner circle call home.

The plot was so fast paced in A Court of Mist and Fury, and it was astonishing how much happened in 624 pages. I felt we learnt endless amounts about so many people and places in such a quick time frame, as well as that, we had a full developed plot that was getting us closer to the endgame of the story… Even though I don’t even know what that is currently. I couldn’t of asked for a more perfect plot to the second story. There was no second book syndrome up in here!

“Feyre Darling”

Feyre was really suffering in A Court of Mist and Fury, she was in such a dark place at the beginning and the development she had in this book has to be recognised as nothing less than amazing. She went in broken, beaten and in pain, and at the end she was a weapon and a survivor and nothing could take that away from her. She’s such a wonderful character, and shes so powerful that I cannot wait for her to unleash on the world.

Then we move on to the beautiful Rhysand and thank-you to Queen Maas for giving us such a character that is not only powerful but gentle, sexy and layered! He was someone I went it thinking I would hate, but wow was I wrong. I enjoyed seeing he wasn’t one dimensional, Sarah could of easily made a sexy character that we would all swoon over. Instead she made Rhysand, who was just as broken as Feyre, who had endured and protected his people for 50 years while he was a whore to ensure their safety. He sacrificed himself for his people, he did unspeakable things for his people, and I think that shows what a exceptional leader he is. He was nothing less than perfect, I would almost say he was more than perfect if that existed.

Tamlin. Tamlin Tamlin… Now I will rant about him in a moment but I wanted to touch on his character first, and the fact that Tamlin’s love for Feyre literally made him stupid. In ACOMAF he became overbearing, possessive and irrational. He didn’t see the relationship for the toxicity that it became, it definitely wasn’t like that in ACOTAR. He was exactly what Feyre needed at that time, however in A Court of Mist and Fury she didn’t need a protector, she needed someone to help her deal with what happened under the mountain, she needed someone to help her understand and control her powers and he did nothing but sweep them under the rug, and act like problems weren’t there.

The biggest problem I had with Tamlin was that he declared that Feyre was his property and that he would consort with enemy forces that are set to destroy them just to ensure she was back with him. One of my biggest pet peeves is men who think they own a woman, and Sarah really tugged on my hate of that in this one. A great addition to the character development though, I do like how she flipped our feelings completely, from a lovable character to one I now despise.

Other than Rhysand, there was another group of people that won my heart in A Court of Mist and Fury, and that was the inner circle… I am 100% fangirling on the inner circle, I love all of them as a unit, and when looked at individually they all hold up perfectly as in-depth characters. Not one of the inner circle was carried by the others, they were all perfectly crafted and created a fantastic dynamic together. Honestly, I could read about the inner circle for a whole spin off series. I adore them.

Now, this is the moment you are all waiting for. This is the moment my friend Jade from Jadeyraereads is waiting for also, so you can join Jade in this enjoyment of me eating my words.
Abandon fucking ship. I was happily sailing my Feylin ship, and then shit got real. Feylin died within me, I really held on but Tamlin destroyed any hope of anyone staying on his side. Here begins my rant, so I apologise for a few brief moments.

HOW DARE TAMLIN BREAK MY HEART LIKE THIS!
HOW DARE HE THINK FEYRE IS HIS PROPERTY!
HOW DARE HE TELL LUCIEN TO TAKE HER AGAINST HER WILL!
HOW DARE HE LOCK HER UP!
and then he went next level
HOW DARE HE SELL OUT HIS OWN COUNTRY, HIS PEOPLE AND PRYTHIAN!
HOW DARE HE BREATHE AFTER THE SHIT HE PULLED!

Also side shade for Lucien, because right now he is also on the traitor boat, that I hope gets blown up.

‘My friend through many dangers. My lover who had healed my broken and weary soul. My mate who had waited for me against all hope, despite all odds.’

As one door closes another one opens, enter the absolute god of a High Lord Rhysand! The whole fandom squeals with excitement and yes I am with them also! I appreciated everything about Feysand and their relationship. I like that it wasn’t instant and it was a long burning development throughout the whole book, it was wonderful the development and fully appreciate that they were perfection together. He didn’t hold a leash on her, and more than that he appreciated that she was a force to be reckoned with on her own. He also didn’t shut her out of the workings of his Court, he brought her in and showed her his world. He didn’t want to run his Court and have her as a wife, he wanted them to run it together. I love it. I ship it. I apologise for not reading ACOMAF sooner.

Overall, this book was everything I didn’t know I wanted. I was skeptical because I loved how ACOTAR ended, but Sarah J. Maas pulled me in and filled my soul with everything I said I didn’t want, and I ended up LOVING IT!

‘And so Tamlin unwittingly led the High Lady of the Night Court into the heart of his territory.’

Now, off you go High Lady of the Night Court and destroy them in ACOWAR. I am out for blood.

Favourite Moment: EVERY MOMENT. Cannot even answer that.
Favourite Quote: “I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.”

Rating: 5/5

7 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury – Review

  1. Loved this review and I totally agree with your rant! Tamlin was everything and now he is just a big tool, living in his tool box (Spring Court). I’m praying that Lucien can redeem himself in ACOWAR by getting on Feyre’s side and destroying the Spring Court from within.

    Like

    1. Oh my god you made me laugh so much at the tool and toolbox comment! ITS SO TRUE! Lucien was my favourite, and he basically lost our trust. I just don’t know how he would go against Tamlin, he’s so loyal to him! I absolutely hope he does though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This book completely altered my perspective on the first one, which I love! I didn’t like Tamlin at all, I felt like the romance was forced and unnatural, “lust” not “love.” So I felt confused about it. The sequel made it make a lot more sense! Yay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

