Maximum Ride: The Manga, #1

Maximum Ride: The Manga, #1 by James Patterson

Maximum Ride: The Manga, #1 is my first experience at not only a manga, but at reading the Maximum Ride series. In saying that my first experience was enjoyable, entertaining, and I definitely want to read more. However, I did lack a WOW factor.

Since this is a review, there are potentials for spoilers. If you don’t want to know anything whatsoever about this Manga, please do not read further. You have been warned.

This story follows fourteen year old Maximum Ride and her flock: Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gasman and Angel who are ordinary kids… Except they have wings and are being hunted.

Artwork
What I love about the artwork by NaRae Lee is that it’s simplistic and the facial expressions are very entertaining. For example: some of the little speech bubbles, have a little facial expression in the corner and I really appreciate it because you can see the annoyance or excitement on the face of the character, rather than drawing the whole character again. I like how the art really captures the emotion, and I am very jealous I don’t have NaRae’s amazing art skills.

Plot
The plot within Maximum Ride: The Manga, #1 was entertaining and easy to follow, however it was missing something that made this book a memorable read and something that I would give a higher rating. Within the story line we get to know the flock, as well as go on a rescue mission for Angel who is kidnapped by the school. I felt like there wasn’t a lot of time before we were thrust into the story, it took 20 pages and we were already among the action, which made it a very fast paced read.

Characters
I enjoyed how the author took the time to show the dynamics between the characters, and continue the overall story arc at the same time. I can’t wait to follow on with the next manga and get to know our characters further.

Overall
I enjoyed this Manga, I am going to continue on with this series. What I like most is how quick it is to read, and how much I enjoy the characters. Although, at this current point in time I am not wow’ed or ultimately drawn to the storyline, but it was a fun enough read that I will continue on.

Rating: 3/5 stars

*Quick disclaimer that this is my first Manga and my first Manga review, so I do not imply that I am an expert, this is just my opinion on what I read.

One thought on “Maximum Ride: The Manga, #1

Leave a Reply

