The Martian – Review

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian

‘LOG ENTRY: SOL 61 How come Aquaman can control whales? They’re mammals! Makes no sense’
The Martian is suspenseful, realistic, hilarious & a perfect read! It’s everything I wanted, and so much more enjoyable than I expected!

When a mission to Mars goes horribly wrong, Mark Watney is presumed dead and left on Mars. He wakes up later, his team having departed the Planet and now his fight for survival begins.

‘That makes me a pirate!
A space pirate!’

Andy Weir’s writing style is interesting, most of the book was spent in log entries, where Mark is directly talking about his day. Occasionally this is swapped to explain what is happening on Earth, or on the Hermes with the other astronauts. This writing style was entertaining, I didn’t think I would enjoy it but I took to it straight away and can’t imagine the story being told differently.

The plot is suspenseful, fast paced, and was gripping from the first page to the last. Additional to that, The Martian is full of equations, sarcasm, and quick thinking on the part of our favourite astronaut. A credit to the overall story is, even though I had already seen the movie at this point, I was still fully entertained from start to finish. The plot was paced perfectly, and even though there were many intricate equations included as a reader I didn’t become disinterested and I was fully invested the whole time.

This book is all about Mark Watney, and he is a wonderful protagonist to follow. I related to his sense of humor and found myself laughing out loud at his running commentary throughout the book. Mark is strong, smart, entertaining, and an extremely likable character. He is a character you stand behind, and want to follow on this epic adventure.

As for side characters, everyone of them were different and fantastic, I enjoyed their input and their dealings with Mark. Each one of them provided a essential part to the story, and I can honestly say they were all perfectly written.

I know the rule is: never watch a movie before the book. However, I watched the movie first because… Matt Damon and I had no idea this was a book to movie adaption at the time of watching. That being said, I think The Martian was written perfectly for a book to movie adaption. Also The Martian is one of the best book to movie adaptions I have ever seen! I found myself reading the book with the movie adapted characters in mind and thinking they were perfectly chosen for their roles.

Overall, The Martian was a perfect book. I was entertained, and it was refreshing to see this book exceed a movie that I absolutely loved. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a witty sense of humour, swearing and space!

Favourite Quote:‘Also, please tell them that each and every one of their mothers is a prostitute.

– Watney’
Rating: 5/5 stars!

Purchase The Martian by Andy Weir from BookDepository and receive FREE SHIPPING: https://www.bookdepository.com/The-Ma…

4 thoughts on “The Martian – Review

      1. I really need to read it. The MC was brilliantly played by Mark Wahlberg and I love that part where he says something like he made Mars his bitch of something like that…it’s been awhile but I remember that part of the trailer made me want to see the movie, and it’s one of the greats!

        Like

      2. I definitely recommend it! I think you mean Matt Damon, he played the part so well hey. I think you will like the book more having seen the movie though because you connect the sarcasm and humor with the actor and it’s just honestly perfection. I didn’t think the book could be funnier, but it absolutely was!

        Like

Leave a Reply

