My Lady Jane – Review

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodie Ashton and Jodi Meadows

2

‘For everyone who knows there was enough room for Leonardo DiCaprio on that door.’

My Lady Jane was an adventurous historical retelling that was funny, romantic, and a little bit quirky!

My Lady Jane is book one in The Lady Janies trilogy, that’s purpose is to give some of histories Jane’s a better endings than they received, and WOW this trilogy has so much potential! This story follows Lady Jane Grey, who is sixteen and a total book lover (yes I can totally relate… to the books… not to being sixteen) and not in the faintest bit interested in any man in Court. However, in a weird turn of events she is about to be married to a total stranger. If that wasn’t scary enough, she is also about to become the Queen of England…

Since this is a review, below does contain spoilers, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

The premise of this book is so intriguing. I like the idea of giving Lady Jane Grey who was Queen for nine days before she was beheaded receiving a better ending than she had in the history books!

The writing in My Lady Jane was basic but entertaining, it did not draw away from the story, and it left the plot to speak for itself. The narration was wonderful to read and there was a lot of humour in the book that I enjoyed immensely! It really added a different dimension to the story, because you not only received points of view of the main characters, but also of the narrators and their take on the history that presented itself.

The plot was wonderful in this story, but I wanted to say up front that I was here for the characters and the plot was an added bonus! The plot was exciting and fast paced, there were a lot of plot points like treason and conspiracy which I found very realistic in regards to past history. The addition to a fantasy element also added to the premise and there is nothing about this plot that I didn’t like! I liked that there were two types of people in the world Verities (muggles) and E∂ians who are shapeshifters, it added an extra bit of hilarity and it was just GOOD!

I feel in love with these character as soon as they graced the page. I liked Jane, who was a young book lover immersed in knowledge, who had no intention to be Queen until it was thrust upon her. Then there was G, who brightened up every page he was on. He was entertaining, lovable and a horse, but irrelavent of his horse-like nature, he was awesome!

There was another main character we followed, King Edward… Who is Edward… Who cares, this story is about Jane and G and I couldn’t of cared less about Edward’s point of view to be honest. He added something extra to the story, but I found myself dying through his chapters to get back to Jane and G!

Overall, My Lady Jane was a wonderful, quick and fun read, with a bit of history mixed in. I would recommend this to anyone who likes a bit of hilarity in their reading experience.

Favourite Quote: “I’m so hungry I could eat a horse. Oh. Sorry, G. Not you, of course.”
Rating: 4/5

Purchase My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodie Ashton and Jodi Meadows from Book Depository and receive FREE SHIPPING: https://www.bookdepository.com/My-Lad…

2 thoughts on “My Lady Jane – Review

  1. *sigh* another fab book to add to that ever-growing monster tbr of mine! Nice review, this sounds incredible 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

