Red Rising – Review

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Details
Title: Red Rising
Author: Pierce Brown
Publication Month: January
Publisher: Del Rey
Genre: Dystopian & Science Fiction
Publication Date: 28 January 2014

 

Red Rising

“I would have lived in peace. But my enemies brought me war.”
Red Rising is a brilliant dystopian with kick-ass characters, an emotional journey, and I freaking loved it!

Red Rising follows Darrow who is a Red, which in a brutal colour-coded society, is the lowest class. He works constantly, mining underground to the understanding that his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. However, Darrow and the Red’s have been betrayed by the other classes, who reached the surface years ago and use the Red’s as slaves.

Wanting justice and revenge for the loss of his love, Darrow sacrifices everything and infiltrates the legendary Institute to rise in the ranks of the Golds and start a rebellion.

Since this is a review, below does contain spoilers, if you haven’t read the book, don’t read any further. You have been warned.

The premise of Red Rising had me intrigued, but honestly I did go into the story not knowing too much, so I was pleasantly surprised at where Pierce took us in this story.

I am struggling to find the words to describe Pierce’s writing style. It was beautiful and descriptive but I found the writing style very masculine. Now I know what your thinking, what do you mean it was masculine… By that I mean the writing style was raw, brutal and rough. There was something very wonderful about the writing in Red Rising and it really intrigues me to see this continue in Golden Son.

The plot within Red Rising was as most dystopians are, fast paced and action packed. This is my element, I FREAKING LOVE IT, so of course I liked the way the plot progressed in Red Rising. The plot was also unpredictable and took the bare bones of a dystopian, and weaved a new amazing story that drew me in from the first page. Honestly, it was everything I could have wanted in the first book of a trilogy. Although there were elements of world building, I believe the way the story was set up leaves for Golden Son to have a lot more building of the Gold’s society and I am excited to see this.

I’m a sheep wearing wolves’ clothing in a pack of wolves.

The characters within Red Rising were honestly fantastic! Our main character is Darrow, and HOLY we went through an emotional roller coaster with this character. The character development was honestly the best I have seen. Darrow went from a sixteen year old Red Helldriver in love with his wife, trying to work for a better future for his future children. To a Red posing as a Gold trying to stay alive in a society he doesn’t understand. He was strong, handsome, ruthless, intelligent, and my favourite part of Darrow was seeing him make mistakes and learn from these. I feel like the creation of Darrow’s character was perfection.

I live for the dream that my children will be born free. That they will be what they like. That they will own the land their father gave them.

Even though I focused mainly on talking about our main character, there was a lot of other amazing well-developed characters worth mentioning in this story. Eo, Mustang, Cassius, and of course Sevro were all well awesome kick-ass characters and I liked there dynamics! Every character seemed to play an essential part, and I did enjoy seeing which characters would remain loyal, where others would betray their friends.

Overall, Red Rising a brilliant read, it was smart, ruthless and took dystopian to a whole new level in my opinion. I liked the raw and brutal nature of the story, and the added elements of politics in this society. I cannot wait to dive into Golden Son and see where this story leads.

Favourite Quote: ‘Tactics win battles. Strategy wins wars’
Rating: 5/5

Purchase Red Rising by Pierce Brown from Book Depository and receive FREE SHIPPING: https://www.bookdepository.com/Red-Ri…

5 thoughts on “Red Rising – Review

  1. Yay, another Red Rising fan!! I’m so glad to hear you liked this one- I too went into it not knowing much about it, but I think it makes the reading experience so much better! And I completely agree about the masculinity of the writing, I thought the same. The characters also seemed to have an obsession with peeing on each other, which always jarred me a little 😛

    I hope you enjoy the rest of the series too, it is certainly an epic adventure!

    Like

    1. I am such a Red Rising fan, Oh my goodness I loved it so much more than I expected. Yeah they did have a obsession with that… it was weird but such a great book lol. I definitely will be continuing on with this trilogy really really soon!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

