S.T.A.G.S – Review

S.T.A.G.S by M. A. Bennett

‘Huntin’, Shootin’, Fishin’’

9781471406768.jpg
Details
Title: S.T.A.G.S
Author: M. A. Bennett
Publication Month: August
Publisher: Allen & Unwin on behalf of Bonnier
Age Range: Young Adult
Publication Date: 28 June 2017
RRP: $19.99 (Australian Price)

I received a free copy of this book from Allen & Unwin on behalf of Bonnier in exchange for an honest review

S.T.A.G.S has a wonderful premise, privileged teens, blood-sports and death, but I was left underwhelmed.

S.T.A.G.S follows Greer MacDonald settling into a privileged boarding school, known to the students as S.T.A.G.S. As she struggles to fit in, she is excited to receive an invitation to a weekend away huntin’, shootin’ and fishin’ with the “Medievals”. The Medievals are the popular group in school, wealthy, powerful and good looking. As she attends this weekend away with the Medieval’s, she realizes this weekend away is taking a dark turn.

I want to start out by saying I was very excited to receive a copy of S.T.A.G.S, the premise of this story intrigued me straight away however, I was let down by certain elements of this story.

I enjoyed the storyline and the fast paced nature of the book. The plot was thought out, and I could see so much potential in this story. The pacing worked really well with the plot, and I loved the mystery vibe that the story had overall. With that being said this is where my enjoyment stopped.

As this story was written from our main character Greer’s perspective, this is where my main issues with the book started. Her narration was tedious as there were constant movie references. I thought it was a great trait for her character, however there was extreme over-use of these references, and it really took away from the story and slowed it down.

The privileged teens that were our villains in this story fell very flat for me. In my opinion there weren’t any layers to these characters, and I couldn’t distinguish between them because all felt so similar.

Overall, I liked the premise of this story and ideas that were behind it, but the characters fell short for me.

Rating: 2/5

Purchase STAGS by M. A. Bennett from Book Depository and receive FREE SHIPPING: https://www.bookdepository.com/STAGS/9781471406768?a_aid=bexnbookx

One thought on “S.T.A.G.S – Review

Leave a Reply

