Nevernight – Review

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Details
Title: Nevernight
Author: Jay Kristoff
Publication Month: July
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Age Range: Adult
Publication Date: 25 July 2016
Nevernight

“Never Flinch.” A cold whisper in her ear. “Never fear. And never, ever forget.”

Nevernight is a brilliant adult novel with assassins, murder, sex and a shadow cat! It is a dark novel, but beautifully written and I definitely recommend this one!

Nevernight follows the deadly Mia Corvere, she is the daughter of an executed traitor and after watching her Father hung, and her Mother and infant Brother taken to jail, she sets her sights on the people that destroyed her family.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to The Red Church, and among other assassins in training to become a Blade of the Lady Blessed Mother. However, living inside The Red Church is more deadly than the town where she is hunted. She must survive the Red Church before she can seek her revenge, and that won’t be easy with murderers on the loose.

The premise wasn’t too complicated, a girl seeking revenge for her family is something I am sure we have all read before. However, the execution of this storyline was fantastic, and stood alone from anything I had read before.

Jay’s writing was wonderful, however I need to note the start of this book is very slow. I did take the recommendations of other reviews though, and that was to push through until you get to page 100. WOW they were right, once you hit the 100 page mark the story kicks in at full force! I ended up knocking over this book in a three day period, which is insane considering the book is 434 pages long with footnotes included.

Now, I did enjoy the footnotes in the story. I think some of them added a lot of humor to the story. However, some of the larger footnotes I found myself skimming over because I was so enthralled with the story that I didn’t want to read any massive background notes.

The plot was action packed and fast paced once you hit the 100 page mark. I enjoyed the twists and turns the plot took, and honestly I was kept guessing the whole time. I think the way Jay writes really complimented the story, it was intense with it’s descriptions, but I really enjoyed the extra detail.

The books we love, they love us back. And just as we mark our places in the pages, those pages leave their marks on us. I can see it in you, sure as I see it in me. You’re a daughter of the words. A girl with a story to tell.

Our fearless main character Mia is absolutely fantastic, she is a complete badass, aggressive and a very hostile character, but she also has more depth to her in which she is intelligent, caring and humble. I didn’t think going into this story that I would like our main character, I assumed she was like most other female badass leads, they are over-confident and arrogant, but Mia didn’t display any of the arrogance I thought she would, and the depth and character development Mia had really made her character shine!

I really liked the different side characters within this book. There were so many of them, and I am still shook at the development and motives for some of the characters which I won’t mention because I don’t want to spoil.

Quick shout out to Mister Kindly, the fantastic not-cat that he is. I LOVED him!

‘Sometimes weakness is a weapon. If you’re smart enough to use it.’

Overall, Nevernight was a fantastic read. It was fast paced, action packed, full of murder and mystery and well developed characters. Definitely a read I think everyone should pick up, and you better believe I am going to pick up Godsgrave as soon as humanly possible!

Favourite Quote: ‘The brighter the light, the deeper the shadow.’
Rating: 5/5

Purchase Nevernight by Jay Kristoff from Book Depository and receive FREE SHIPPING: https://www.bookdepository.com/Nevernight-Jay-Kristoff/9780008179984?a_aid=bexnbookx

One thought on “Nevernight – Review

  1. Yay I’m so glad you loved Nevernight!! I absolutely loved it and I can’t WAIT for Godsgrave to come out. When I re-read Nevernight I skip over the footnotes now, I like them but for me they break up the flow too much for me. Great review!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

