Sorcery of Thorns – Review

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

“Knowledge always has the potential to be dangerous. It is a more powerful weapon than any sword or spell.”

42201395

Details
Title: Sorcery of Thorns
Author: Margaret Rogerson
Publication Month: June
Publisher:Margaret K. McElderry Books
Age Range: Young Adult
Publication Date: 4th June 2019

Sorcery of Thorns is a great YA fantasy standalone which weaves conspiracy and political intrigue with magical books and demons.

Sorcery of Thorns follows Elisabeth, a young girl that’s grown up as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries. Surrounded by magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle against iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of ink and leather.

Hoping to become a warden, charged with protecting the kingdom from their power, until an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire. Elisabeth’s intervention implicates her in the crime, and she is torn from her home to face justice. With no one to turn to but one of the people she’s been told are the enemy, she finds herself entangled in a conspiracy and she never imagined the danger she would find herself in.

Sorcery of Thorns is the Read Rate Review book for the months of July/August and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this novel. I feel like this is a story that the author planned really well, and honestly she knew a book set in a Library would sell to all us book lovers!

This is the first novel I have read from Margaret, and I really enjoyed her writing style. The world building was detailed and the atmosphere and settings for the novel were something that I really enjoyed. The magic system didn’t always make sense, but I was able to look past this in the story and still enjoy it.

The plot was fast paced and unique, it was action packed and I think the author wrote the action scenes really well. I do think the pacing was a little slow, and it did take a while to get into the story, however I was listening to the audiobook so it was easier to keep pressing through, which I may not have done if I was physically reading.

What did reduce my star rating though, is the fact that the ending negated some of the book. I think when authors rectify decisions they made during the epilogue, it’s a massive cop out and does a disservice to their novel. I hated it.

“It was always wise to be polite to books, whether or not they could hear you.” 

Moving onto the characters, what I loved about this story was some of the books were characters and I was here for that! However, obviously our story focuses on Elisabeth, who did manage to annoy me slightly in her naivety, but other than that I really enjoyed her character. She was strong willed, and wasn’t going to stop trying to uncover truth, even if nobody would support her in doing so. I enjoyed her character moments with Nathaniel and Silas including the funny dialogue between them. But the characters were also very complex, and I liked seeing their progression throughout.

Overall, Sorcery of Thorns was a great read, I think it had a lot to offer as a YA fantasy and I definitely will continue reading these authors books.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Purchase Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson from Book Depository and receive FREE SHIPPING: https://www.bookdepository.com/Sorcer…

5 thoughts on “Sorcery of Thorns – Review

Leave a comment